5 Things that Help Me Raise Grandchildren

Donna French
4 min readMar 19, 2022
Photo by James X on Unsplash

After going to get 3 of my grandchildren last April, there are some things that looking back I didn’t know would make such an impact.

My hope is that it helps others that are faced with this life-altering situation, or that are already in the middle of this and need to know they are not alone.

At the time, they were 2, 5, and 8 years old. It has been one of the most challenging chapters of my life. Yes, it is rewarding to know that I am making a difference in their lives and keeping them out of the way from addicted parents & all that entails.

However, it is difficult on a lot of days to know what is best for them— and to know how to take care of myself in order to keep my batteries charged.

  1. Routine saves lives
    Most people know that routine for children is super important, but I cannot even begin to express how detrimental it is for children coming from a life where parents are in active addiction.
    My grandkiddos had no schedule while with their parents (primarily my daughter) which meant they fell asleep until they passed out, missed school on a very regular basis (almost half of the 2020–21 school year ) and so much other uncertainty daily.
    We started with enforcing a consistent bedtime, and by offering meals and snacks on a schedule. These two things alone were hard as hell because my…

--

--

Donna French

Computer nerd, Introvert, entrepreneur, Mimi to 5 that moved to BFE and writes about cyber security and other random thoughts.